Summer Blog Hop

Welcome to the Summer Splash Blog Hop, brought to you by the writers of Indie Writers Unite.

Hop the blog to discover what goodies each author is giving away on their blog. You can win anything from gift cards, to jewelry, signed prints, and kindle fires.

Be sure to visit the Summer Splash Blog Hop HOME page to learn how to Tweet your way into the chance of winning one of the six Grand Prizes! Prizes include: two Kindle Fires, $75 Amazon gift card, $50 Amazon gift card, Kindle book cover and signed books from several authors, including me! Go to http://kindlesplash.blogspot.com/ to start hopping now!

I will be giving away a signed paperback of NO MORE WASTED TIME. If that’s not enough to take you away on an exotic vacation full of sweltering romance, I’ll be throwing in an issue of Island Magazine! Click the Rafflecopter link below to win my prizes. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Is Your Vegas Showing?

Since I’m a Las Vegan, I’ll be kicking off my first blog with a bit of Las Vegas flair. Yes that’s right – I’m a virgin blogger! Please feel free to leave a comment sharing your favorite Las Vegas experience or any other crazy vacation destination.
Here’s the opening line and excerpt from my debut novel No More Wasted Time.
 

CHAPTER ONE
 Tess Matthews nearly ran face first into the biggest pair of boobs she’d ever seen.

            “Holy shit! Whew. That was close.”

            The Las Vegas airport bustled with tourists hoping to win millions, party like a rock star or pretend to be someone else for a weekend. The sweltering July heat always brought the craziest of crazies to town and today was no exception.

            “That might’ve hurt.” Tess’ oldest daughter Tracy giggled. “You would’ve had two black eyes.”

            “Two huge black eyes.” Her youngest daughter JC clarified, elbowing Tess in the ribs, encouraging her to peek at the elderly couple dressed-to-impress Vegas style. As if she hadn’t just collided with another woman’s vast amount of cleavage because of them. Her daughters pointed at the woman in her late seventies sporting bleach blond hair, red six-inch heels, black spandex pants and a form fitting purple shirt. Her spray-tanned, saggy arm clung to the shoulder of a frail man dressed in black leather pants and vest.

            “Wow, Mom, was that a smile?” JC asked sarcastically.

            Tess ignored the comment. “Did you put copies of your passports in each of your suitcases in case it gets lost or stolen? Be sure to keep your phone in your…”

            “Front pocket, we’ve got it. You’ve gone over this ten times already.” JC rolled her eyes.

           “You know we’ll be responsible.” Tracy reminded her. “Look Mom, it took me two months of bribing JC with Starbucks to get her to come with me and I planned this entire trip by myself. I’ve been dreaming of going to France, Venice and Rome for-”

           “Don’t forget about Greece.” JC interrupted. “That’s where all the really hot guys are going to be. According to the movies I’ve seen, Mr. tall, dark, and handsome is going to be waiting for us when we step off the plane.”

            “Mom, are you sure you don’t want to come with us to Europe? It’d be so much more fun.” Tracy asked as they passed through airport security.

            “Yeah, come with us. There might even be cute old men your age.” JC hunched her lean body forward, imitating an old man using a cane as she peered through her long caramel hair.

            “Thanks, JC. Thanks a lot. Maybe you could even drum me up a guy without a wheelchair or a walker or a cane, since they’d be my age.” Tess joked back, completely conscious of her forty-four years.

            “Maybe you’ll find a hunky Polynesian fire dancer in Bora Bora,” JC’s jade eyes sparkled mischievously.

            “All right, that’s enough out of you, missy. I have no interest in hunky fire dancers.”        

           “Maybe it’s about time you get interested,” JC mumbled under her breath.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Summer Blog Hop

  1. Caylee Preston

    I can’t wait!

  2. Ha, very awesome excerpt! 🙂

  3. Good Job Ms Preston. I can’t wait to win a signed copy of your book

  4. Great! Awesome. I can’t wait.

  5. Beautiful blog! Hop sounds like fun!

  6. Beverly how true the picture at the airport is, I have seen it myself and down town on the strip. People that have never been here don’t know many come he to be some one else for a few days is very true. To start fiction with reality makes the story seam real, good job!!!

    • Thank you for stopping by and the kind words. Vegas has been my home for over 30 years and I do have some colorful stories to tell. I’m going to dedicate a few Sinfully Sexy blog posts to Vegas titled “Is Your Vegas Showing?” I’d love it if locals and anyone who travels here to join in the hilarity by adding their own personal Vegas highlights to the posts. Happy hopping and good luck!

  7. Hey Beverly! I have already purchased No More Wasted Time on my Nook but would love to have an autographed copy 🙂

  8. Looks like a lot of fun! Love the colors! My first trip into Las Vegas would be when I was about 10 years old. It was a fluke that we found our way there. My family had been traveling through Death Valley when the break lines on our Ford station wagon had apparently boiled over enabling us 1-2 more pumps on our breaks before there would be nothing more to pump. That was according to some guy my father was talking to at one of the sulfur ponds we had stopped at. Well, we made it flying into town at a breakneck speed since my father didn’t want to use all of his pumps until absolutely necessary. Our car finally came to a stop somewhere in Vegas and we rented a car. That was 1967 so things have changed there a bit. The lights and pomp were still pretty cool then and at 10 years old it was something I would never forget. Good luck with your blog hop Bev! Your new site and your book are #awesome!

  9. Laurie B

    I really loved No More Wasted Time. It was such a great book. I could really see this as a moive. LOL! Looking forward to reading more or your books. 🙂

  10. Rosarita Reader

    a Kindle Fire would improve my life by housing my HUGE TBR list – I LOVE TO READ!!!!!!! Since it also can access the web I would be able to get to Amazon and FB, and Goodreads. Woo Hoo, what’s not to love about that?

Leave a Reply

